top of page

A Rainy Day's Ice Cream


The morning market had long dissolved by the time I got there in the afternoon. I heard that it was quite a party today, with many vendors showing up- excitement that had been missing for most part of the year.


There was an ice-cream truck, with no one in sight, just the smell of good old chocolate and vanilla. I wondered how nice it would feel to sit still in that giant ice-cool truck, surrounded by pure goodness.


As I watered the first plant that survived my care, I noticed something had bitten off some of its leaves. The neighbourhood rats probably needed some extra fibre, or perhaps they thought it was a fun game to behead baby leaves for kicks; either way I couldn’t blame them for I’d do the same. The rat trap hadn’t been doing its job- the “welcoming gate” is stuck. I felt the old can of WD-40 stare me down in disgust.


Perhaps I should get another plant, just so it feels more festive, but do plants ever get lonely? Like us? Either way, they seem to give more life to life. Like us.


I opened the freezer after a long time; strange things happened in there, and as always, it felt like a different realm, where life went on in mystery I’ll never quite figure out. Maybe I’ll just eat the forgotten ice-cream that I made six months ago; there's still a chance that they’ve become a little wiser from all this time alone.

bottom of page